Chemicals on your skin and ADHD

14 Nov

Hey everyone!

Today I’d like to blog about somehting quite important. Putting things on your skin!

We put all sorts of things on our skin, going from  all sorts of make up, to deodorant, cremes, etc etc… Now why would this be such a problem? If you ask around, most scienticists will tell you the skin is impermeable, and you shouldn’t worry about histamine rich products on your skin. However, it is these same scientists that will prescribe a nicotine patch, or a birth control patch.. and these are absorbed by skin, otherwise they woudln’t work right? And what about sunshine? We absorb the vitamines of the sun as well don’t we?

Now there’s a LOT of discussion going on on wether or not we should be carefull with putting products on our skin, but I say..why take the risk? Most products we put on our skin are made in labs, by people with white coats, wearing safety goggles and gloves.. and yet thats the product we put on our skin?

I do believe that the skin can absorb some parts of your make up, deodorant, or cremes if the particles are small enough. I can’t speak for everyone off course, but for me it goes so far I can’t wear plasters or band-aids (they contain gluten.. I left it on my arm for a few hours, got a booming migraine and a horrid rash on my arm). This all depends on your level of severity off course!

These links below are quite interesting on the matter! Take your time with them, and think about what you really want to put on your skin!

http://www.drmyhill.co.uk/wiki/Minerals_and_vitamins_in_creams

(link provided by https://www.facebook.com/TheRedWineHeadacheCookbook )

http://www.thirdage.com/news/coeliac-disease-sufferers-should-be-wary-of-cosmetics-containing-gluten-warn-researchers_11-03-2011

And then another matter.. The past week I’ve had several questions from people about histamine intolerance and ADHD. I was diagnosed ADHD myself when I first started university, and immediately put on horrible medication that made me very ill.  After switching psychiatrist, I was put on Ritalin, which made me very robot like. The hubby decided enough was enough and we stopped Ritalin, only to find out I was having detox symptoms. Not my finest hour I can tell you! In my final year at university, I saw a behavioral therapist who helped me study.. to no avail.

Two years later I got my histamine intolerance diagnosis and went histamine low. I didn’t see change right away, but I could focus a lot better. he big change for me came with the diagnosis of NCGS, or Non Coeliac Gluten Sensitivity. Going both histamine low and grain free has made a world of difference in my ADHD world. I have grown loads and loads calmed, am less impulsive, can work for longer then 10 minutes on one task (!!) and I will actually finish what I have started!

Now I want to point out, that with my ADHD both histamine and gliadines were an issue! Unfortunately, there has been little research done on the matter, and most of the research done involves children and not adults (altho very often the food intolerance will pop up at later age, due to poisoning over many many years). Very often, an ADHD child/adult is given meds, without further questioning..

I’ve looked up some info on the matter:

http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/155824/food_intolerance_allergies_in_the_adhd_pg2.html?cat=25

http://www.foodsmatter.com/asd_autism/adhd_causes/articles/histamine_genetics_adhd.html

If you have a child with ADHD, or you have ADHD and suspect histamine being the culprit (or any other type of food), talk this over with your GP, or psychologist or psychiatrist. Keep a food diary! Write down exactly how you feel, when you feel it, what you eat, etc etc… Food diaries are often a wonderfull source in discovering any type of food intolerance!

Try suggesting going histamine low, or even just avoiding all additives, colorants and parabenes and benzoates. If you do want to go histamine low, find a good nutritionist together with your GP/psychologist/psychiatrist and get a basic skin prick test done. These contain a histamine controle test, and will often give you a clue as where to look. Never ever decide to start dieting on your own, but always get help of a professional! Print out as much articles as needed to make a case, and go see your doctor!

The foods we eat these days are far from healthy. We grab a quick snack from a fastfoodrestaurant, that is filled with flavor enhancers and preservatives.. we eat all sorts of colorfull candies, pastries, pre-made foods..etc etc. We look at the telly and see commercials that these foods will provide a happy family, smiles on everyone’s faces.. well, let me tell you, it wont do that. Very often these foods are highly chemical. Remember when you were in high school and you did all sorts of chemical tests in a tube.. you wouldn’t drink that right? And yet, we eat chemicals every day.. maybe high time to leave those chemicals behind, and start looking for a healthier way of life!

All the best!

Nele

6 Responses to “Chemicals on your skin and ADHD”

  1. Tamara King November 14, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    Hi Nele

    Thank you for your post, it’s really interesting for me as the parent of a 5 yr old boy who has histamine intolerance and ADHD behaviour affected by certain foods and medications/creams on his skin. He is on a restricted diet which eliminates all additives (sweeteners, colours, preservatives etc,) chocolate, dried fruit, tomatoes and oranges. This is helping but I’m wondering if eliminating grains, eggs and milk would help too. It too worried what I’d feed him if I did that but I’m going to try in the school holidays.

    Creams on his skin definitely affect him such as Eucerin for dry skin and Canestan cream. He can’t sleep and gets terrible tummy ache.

    • histamine intolerance February 28, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

      Grains can most definetly cause ADHD. Humans aren’t really meant to digest grains, and adhd is one know effect of grain sensitivity, celiac or gluten intolerance. Best to get advise from a nutritionist before putting him on such a diet tho! Good luck!

  2. Idaho Home Grown November 27, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    would like to subscribe to your blog but don’t see a spot in the margin. Did I miss it? thanks.

    • histamine intolerance February 28, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

      I couldn’t find it either, and haven’t a clue how to solve it. Silly me… will have to fix this!

  3. Sha August 13, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

    High Histamine foods can raise blood histamine levels because of a reduced
    activity of di-amine oxidase enzyme. This histamine cause a number of known symptoms including lowering blood pressure. The reduced blood pressure causes the release of adrenaline to raise blood pressure back up. Adrenaline
    causes the recognised ADHD symptoms. Low histamine diet and/or antihistamines should solve this. ( i have a degree in biochemistry uk)

    • histamine intolerance September 18, 2013 at 11:39 am #

      Agreed. Since I’ve been on the low hist diet, my adhd has been a lot better.

Leave a Reply

