Histamine Intolerance and insomnia

3 Jun

So a lot of histamine patients seem to have issues sleeping. As my allergist so eloquently put it and I quote :” histamine is a wake-amine”.  As for me, I wake up from the slightest light or sound. It gets so bad I wake up multiple times per hour. You can imagine this is quite hard. It means waking up just as tired as when you went to bed. I’ve tried a wide variety of tricks, but nothing really does seem to do the trick.  I’m on sleep medication right now, carefully discussed with my doctor. I take Atarax before I go to bed, and a sleep medication called Trazodone.  It’s one of the oldest anti-depressants, but not containing SSRI’s. In fact, it’s a mild anti-histamine.

With those medications I still wake up multiple times per night, and I still have very silly dreams (or like my friend calls them, histamine-dreams).

I try to avoid what I can that wakes me up at night. Wearing an eyemask is one of them. Since the littlest bit of light wakes me up, this is a nice solution. People can get some nice, decent ones at an outdoor shop like A.S. Adventure ( approximetly 10 €). If you’re looking on spending less money on them, some gadgetshops have them too (at about 4 €).

Earplugs are good to keep sound out, altho I haven’t tried them myself. I usually wrap the blanket over my head so sound gets muffled out. Maybe its good to consult a doctor beforehand if you choose to use earplugs long term. A friend of mine used them for a while at night, and she had some complaints..

Also, being utterly relaxed helps too off course. Stress releases histamine into the body, and we want to avoid that before going to bed. Meditation, a bit of yoga, or enjoying sitting outside in the eveningsun, whatever works best..

Off course, these issues can vary from person to person. If you have sleeping issues, always make sure to discuss them with your doctor. If then you can relate it to your histamine intolerance, make sure to look for a solution, together with your doctor and allergist, that fits you best!

Here’s a link to something on the role of histamine and waking: http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/8741.php

And those histamine dreams, maybe we can amuse a dream-analyst with it ;o)

sleep tight!

Nele

8 Responses to “Histamine Intolerance and insomnia”

  1. Tamara July 16, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

    My son was diagnosed with histamine intolerance when he was 2 years old. We did nothing about it until recently (he is now 4) and finally, now he is on a low histamine diet he has stopped waking us up every night telling us he can’t sleep. If he ate pizza (for example) he would come in and wake us up about 5 times in the night because he couldn’t get back to sleep. I can’t believe the change in him now he is on a low histamine diet. Histamine intolerance most certainly has an impact on sleep patterns.

    • histamine intolerance July 20, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

      I’m glad your little boy is doing better! Yes, people often underestimate the effect off histamine on sleep pattern

  2. Mariska July 20, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    It is my impression that ADRENALINE is the reason for insomnia in histamine intolerance! The treatment is avoiding histamine…

    http://histamine-intolerance.info/

    • histamine intolerance July 20, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

      which is not always as easy as it seems for some.. With a low hist diet I still wake up multiple times per night. You are right that histamine is probably related to adrenaline…since histamine can also cause the ‘fight or flight’ reaction, which involves adrenaline 🙂

  3. Ida August 8, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

    Hi there,

    Have you heard of Modafinil/Provigil? It’s a medication that US Airforce pilots started taking after it was decided that amphetamines are not suited to promote wakefulness in combat situations (took them quite a few years of friendly fire incidents to work that one out!).

    Wikipedia “…modafinil also elevates hypothalamic histamine levels,[7] leading some researchers to consider Modafinil a “wakefulness promoting agent” rather than a classic amphetamine-like stimulant (as evidenced by the difference in c-Fos distribution caused by modafinil as compared to amphetamine).[8]

    A friend had showed me the medical insert and I had to laugh! I found it amusing that all I need to do is eat to get the same effect that a packet of pills gives!

    • histamine intolerance August 8, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

      Haha!!! True, give us some chocolate and we’ll be maniacs at night! No need for pills keeping us awake! 😀

  4. themenopausehistamineconnection March 10, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

    Please take a look at my blog entry about the specific regiment of supplements I take to manage my histamine intolerance. I have been sleeping so well lately because of them. I also eat a low histamine diet, but it’s the supplements that have saved me! I’m not selling anything. My blog is purely educational.

    http://themenopausehistamineconnection.wordpress.com/mission-statement/what-you-should-know/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Histamine Intolerance, Inflammation and RLS (PART 4): INSOMNIA | The Restless Legs Blog (or how I tried to convince Big Pharma that my legs are better) - July 26, 2013

    […] the Histamine Intolerances BlogA lot of histamine patients seem to have issues sleeping. As my allergist so eloquently put it and I […]

Leave a comment